Top Menu

Top headlines of the week from Friday, May 2- Thursday, May 8, 2014.

Read More > 0

Top headlines of the week from Friday, April 25- Thursday, May 1, 2014.

Read More > 0

While most colleges focus their substance use prevention and treatment programs on alcohol, marijuana and prescription drugs, heroin use is a serious but little-discussed problem, Inside Higher Ed reports.

Read More > 0

Top headlines of the week from Friday, April 18- Thursday, April 24, 2014.

Read More > 0

A new poll finds while a majority of Americans support the legalization of marijuana, most do not favor legalizing other drugs, such as cocaine or heroin.

Read More > 0

The surge in the use of heroin and prescription opioids is resulting in more deaths than violent crimes and car crashes in many communities, law enforcement officials said this week. They met in Washington, D.C. to discuss the problem and possible solutions.

Read More > 1

Top headlines of the week from Friday, April 11- Thursday, April 17, 2014.

Read More > 0

Top headlines of the week from Friday, April 4- Thursday, April 10, 2014.

Read More > 0

The recent spike in heroin deaths—which is real– is being attributed to heroin mixed with fentanyl. We wring our hands about overdoses, but do little to make effective treatment widely available. Policy changes must be made to end this scandal explains David L. Rosenbloom, PhD, Professor at Boston University School of Public Health.

Read More > 4

People seeking treatment for heroin addiction face a number of obstacles, including a lack of treatment beds, expensive care, and insurance companies that refuse to pay for inpatient rehab, according to ABC News.

Read More > 6

Disclaimer:
Reproduction in whole or in part of this publication is strictly prohibited without prior consent. Photographic rights remain the property of Join Together and the Partnership for Drug-Free Kids. For reproduction inquiries, please e-mail jointogether@drugfree.org.